Hello September – Goals, Dreams, and a Rant

It’s finally September! This just so happens to be my favourite month (and not only because it’s my birthday month). It’s the month where the weather turns around and it finally gets a little cooler. If you happen to live in Korea you’ll know why that’s such a relief. It’s now also only 4 months till Christmas, and it is now ‘acceptable’ to begin to get excited. OR maybe it’s not and I’m just weird. This coming month is going to be a busy one. It’s back to school again, time to get organised and start adulting after a long break. Usually, most people set themselves new goals and such at the start of the new year, for me, however, that is almost always in September.  For some reason, this month just feels like a new start every year. A new start nine months into the already ongoing year. Yep.

Calendar
Already more than half-full but it’s now that the goal making starts.

As September always seems to become a new start for me, there are things I hope to accomplish this month. For one, I need to stop drinking so much coke. Yes, you see, I’m a Coca-Cola addict. Horrible, truly horrible. First world problems. Like every other millennial in this day and age, I too am influenced by the health craze that seems to have swept a majority of us off our feet. But come on, who doesn’t wanna look like an Instagram celeb? As ashamed as I am to admit to such a weakness (cause that’s what it’s considered when you’re following the ideals of Hollywood, Instagram and fashion mags), I do wish I could be one of those fit motivated girls who just make it look so easy to have your shit together. I mean obviously they put in an endless amount of work into looking like they do, it doesn’t come for free. But still.

Now I’m not saying that I want to be super skinny and what not, but I’m not buying into the whole “be happy as you are” crap if you are in fact unhappy with something. Of course, we should appreciate and love ourselves, but that doesn’t mean that we can’t have things that we want to improve upon. I’ll never understand why some people seem to find that so wrong? It doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re weak or impressionable if you want to slim down and get fit, or otherwise, improve something on your own body, so why do some people always act like you’re on your way to becoming anorexic if you’re not necessarily overweight but start on a diet or lose a bit of weight? Now anorexia is a horrible disease and I feel for anyone who deals with it, but I also feel that it’s incredibly inconsiderate for some people to use that as a way to talk down to people who want to lose a couple of kilos. Likewise, I also feel that it’s wrong for people to hate on those who go for plastic surgery; if it doesn’t affect you personally why would you hate on someone for changing something about themselves? Like what’s it got to do with You? Can they then hate on you for colouring your hair or buying expensive clothes, or otherwise following trends and what not to try and fit in?

Wow, it seems I’ve gone off on a tangent again. To get back to the goals I’ve set myself, yes, stop drinking sugar and start exercising. I happen to be one of those people who hate going to the gym so my exercise will be at home on a yoga mat using my own body as a tool. Pinterest is a great source for at-home workouts you can do on your own. Although, as with all exercise, you also need to change your diet if you want to make a difference. I’m also stocking up on and experimenting with minerals and vitamins that I lack in my food intake. For now, I’ve ordered a couple from iHerb such as MSM, magnesium, and omega 3 to name a few. I’m really looking forward to seeing how it works out in the end. But it’s not only the body that needs looking after, it’s the face too. I have a couple of Korean skin care favourites that really gives the skin a boost. The most important ones containing acids for exfoliation.

 

 

Beauty Flat Lay
Cleansing, exfoliating, and moisturising are three key components for healthy skin. These are some of my current favourites, all from various Korean brands. (Korean skin care really is in a leauge of its own.)

 

 

Lastly, the final goal is, as it is every year, to be more organised. Although I feel like I’m improving year by year, however, that might just be me getting older. Organising and planning have never been my strong suits. Nor has self-discipline. But this year, this year, I’m gonna do it! You see, my goal in life is to become an author, or self-employed, or both, but for that one needs to be organised and disciplined. So that’s what I’m working on. Discipline. Anyone who knows me knows that I and discipline don’t go hand in hand, or even in the same sentence, but I’ll be damned if I can’t live up to my own dreams due to a fault in character I’m aware of and capable of fixing. So, therefore, I’m working on DISCIPLINE. I hate that word, I feel like it’s an ugly word, but oh so necessary in the end.  And that’s what this is, the end of this post. I hope you’ve been entertained or perhaps inspired by my rantings! Let me know what you think, thoughts, ideas, rants, they’re all both welcome and appreciated.

I hope I’ll see you again!

Ida Gabriella xx

Leave a Reply

