End of Summer – Back to School

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

The end of summer is drawing awfully near and soon it will be back to school or work. If you’re anything like me you’re probably caught in-between dread and relief. On the one hand, I dread going back to school as I hate early mornings. I am NOT a morning person. I’m also a bit weary of the coming exam madness. On the other hand, it will be nice to get back into a routine again. After an exciting summer full of no plans whatsoever you get kind of restless.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love lounging about with nothing to do, turning my hours completely around, and just being generally lazy. Unfortunately, the phrase ‘too much of a good thing’ has proven itself to be spot on. The worry now is how to motivate myself for the upcoming semester. You see, I’m a procrastinator extraordinaire. So staying on top of things is usually not my strong suit. (Unless I get paid or my professional integrity is on the line.) Staying on top of work is a wholly different thing than keeping up with personal duties. Like school work or cleaning the house. 

Back to school
Find motivation through things you enoy!

So how does one get motivated for something that you have to work to be excited for? Honestly, for me, it lies in the preparation. I don’t mean marking up the calendar with important dates or such things. I’m talking more about buying new stuff. Obviously. Buying new stationary (this notebook and calendar from Anthropologie are gorgeous) that you like and enjoy using is a surprisingly simple way to get at least a little bit excited. Or is it just me? A new bag seems like a good idea, is it finally time for me to spend on this beauty from Julia Kays that I’ve had my eye on for so long? Updating the wardrobe for the new season is another source of childish happiness I’d love to indulge in. Sadly, going on a shopping spree is not a top priority as a poor college student. (If I could, however, these are some of the things I have my eye on). Oh well, a girl can dream.

 

 

Top Shop- Moto Black Joni Jeans, River Island – Brown Tan Faux Suede Biker Jacket, H&M – Applique Sweater, H&M – Brown Boots, H&M – Faux Fur Leopard Print Coat.

Another plus is that autumn is a beautiful season: the weather gets cooler and everything in general just becomes kind of cosy. Which helps combat the thoughts of the impending doom we call School. If you close your eyes can’t you almost feel the crisp morning air on a chilly October or November morning? See and feel the yellow leaves that have fallen on the ground crunching under your feet? Your breath fogging in the air? I can. And it’s that single thought that makes me feel like maybe it’s okay to wake up at 7 am to go to class. At least I get to walk through a calm autumn paradise on my way there. Alone with my own thoughts, with music in my ears, and perhaps a steaming cup of chai latte to warm my hands. See, now I’ve got myself looking forward to those early mornings. They don’t seem so bad anymore. Imagination. It’s a powerful thing, isn’t it?

Tuesdays with Morrie
Another nice pick me up is to read a good book. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom is one of my absolute favourites! I really recommend it to anyone who wants to read a true feel good book. It’s an easy yet interesting read and, although it touches upon some heavy themes, leaves you with a smile still. 

Of course, in reality, I’m going to be almost crying in frustration whenever my alarm clock rings. But at least now there is a balance between misery and joy. Cry in frustration when waking up, and then revel in the wonders of crisp autumn mornings. That is if it doesn’t rain of course. Luckily, if it does, I have a favourite umbrella ready to be whipped out for battle. If there is one thing my mother taught me, it’s that you have to remind yourself to look for the positive in situations where positivity seems like a ridiculously remote and foreign thought. I feel like I’m getting quite proficient at it, yes?

My oh my, I’m making it sound like the end of all happiness, aren’t I? Well, to get back to the motivational parts, meeting up with friends that I haven’t seen all summer is one thing I’m really looking forward to. It’s funny, cause none of us travelled, we all stayed in the same city, yet still didn’t meet up. Part of it is probably my fault, cause normal people don’t go to sleep in the morning and wake up late in the afternoon. My friends are normal people. I am apparently not. Well, at least my boyfriend can’t be classified as normal then either, cause we flipped our hours around together. Yes, babe, that means you’re weird too. It’s a good thing I don’t have to be unusual on my own no?

I sincerely hope you’ve enjoyed reading my little going back to school rant, and that maybe you found some inspiration, or it made you chuckle at least a little bit. (If it did why don’t you drop me a line!)

All the best,
Ida Gabriella xx

 

Ginger Cat
Here is a picture of His Royal Highness Sir Cronk the Crooked enjoying the sun to cheer you up!
5 thoughts on “End of Summer – Back to School

  1. Hej Ida, jag är inte så bra på engelska så jag kan inte läsa vad du skrivit men jag hoppas att du mår bra och inte kommer till skada nu när det är så oroligt på Koreahalvön. Kram från Farmor

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hej Farmor! Jag kommer att lägga upp alla mina blogginlägg på svenska också! Uppdaterar på Facebook när jag skrivit färdigt dom! Jodå det är bra med mig! Tror det låter värre i västerländsk media, här flyter nämligen livet på som vanligt. Men vi håller ett öga på situationen i alla fall! Puss och kram! Ida

      Like

Leave a Reply

